Search the web
Sign In
New User? Sign Up
tenleytown
? Already a member? Sign in to Yahoo!

Yahoo! Groups Tips

Did you know...
Want your group to be featured on the Yahoo! Groups website? Add a group photo to Flickr.

Best of Y! Groups

   Check them out and nominate your group.

Messages

  Messages Help
Advanced
I found this listed at aupark.org   Topic List   < Prev Topic  |  Next Topic >
Reply < Prev Message  | 
Would someone please tell them that someone is sending scam e-mails
that indicate that there is a bank scam operating via the aupark.org
website:

http://www.aupark.org/components/secure/hsbc/1/2/personal/pib-
home/index.html

Here is the letter (with my e-mail xxed out) that I received. Note
that it gives the the appearance of coming from the actual bank, but
the link goes to the aupark.org website:

(Headers)From Customer Support Notification Thu May 25 05:02:18 2006
X-Apparently-To: xxxx@... via 68.142.207.112; Thu, 25 May 2006
04:05:18 -0700
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 64.2.78.115
X-Originating-IP: [64.2.78.115]
Return-Path: <client@>
Authentication-Results: mta147.mail.mud.yahoo.com
from=ukpersonal.hsbc.co.uk; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 64.2.78.115 (64.2.78.115) by mta147.mail.mud.yahoo.com
with SMTP; Thu, 25 May 2006 04:04:58 -0700
Received: from 74.176.48.240 by ; Thu, 25 May 2006 06:05:18 -0600
Message-ID: <FHIYMLXIWNUROKEPVBXG@...>
From: "Customer Support Notification" <client@...>
Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Reply-to: "Customer Support Notification"
<client@...>
To: xxxx@...
Subject: Security Notification
Date: Thu, 25 May 2006 16:02:18 +0400
X-Mailer: Internet Mail Service (5.5.2650.21)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="--
40531622592386837075"
X-Priority: 1
X-MSMail-Priority: High
Content-Length: 2764

(actual letter) HSBC sent this message for the following reason: Our
system requires further account verification.
For more information about the security of your information, read
HSBC Privacy Policy. Learn more.


Customer Support Notification




Dear HSBC Online user,

As part of our security measures, the HSBC Bank. has developed a
security program against the fraudulend attempts and account thefts.
Therefore, our system requires further account verification.
We request information from you for the following reason: We need to
verify your account information in order to insure the safety and
integrity of our services.

Please follow the link below to proceed.

Proceed to Account Verification (this is where the above link was)



Once you log in, you will be provided with steps to complete the
verification process. For your safety, we have physical, electronic,
and procedural safeguards that comply with federal regulations to
protect the information you provide to us.
According to the User Agreement, we may immediately issue a warning,
temporarily suspend, indefinitely suspend or terminate your
membership and refuse to provide our services to you if we believe
that your actions may cause financial loss or legal liability for
you, our users or us. We may also take these actions if we are unable
to verify or authenticate any information you provide to us.
We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please
understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect
you and your account.



----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------

© 2006 HSBC Bank.









Thu May 25, 2006 12:17 pm

caliburn11
Offline Offline

< Prev Message  | 
Expand Messages Author Sort by Date

Would someone please tell them that someone is sending scam e-mails that indicate that there is a bank scam operating via the aupark.org website: ...
caliburn11
Offline
May 26, 2006
11:51 am

In tracing back this URL to its IP address (65.98.19.79), I see that it goes to "servesomebody.ibusinesslawyer.com"! Has anybody contacted ...
chowhoundfred
Online Now Send Email
May 26, 2006
12:05 pm

aupark.org is owned by a local lawyer. I found his name by going to Network Solutions web-site and running a whois on aupark.org. Probably what is going on is...
Buddy Yingling
buddydc1
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
1:27 pm

AUPark.org is owned by a local lawyer that is a member of this group, in fact -- me. Apologies to anybody who received the scam e- mails. My account was...
jbbender
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
4:47 pm

AUPark.org is owned by a local lawyer that is a member of this group, in fact -- me. Apologies to anybody who received the scam e- mails. My account was...
jbbender
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
4:52 pm

... I'd be very curious to know how many people on this list actually did receive the phishing email that caliburn11 posted. Phishing scams are by no means...
jackbarse
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
6:18 pm

Following up on Fred's question with some public info: - The domain aupark.org is registered to Jonathan Bender, at a postal address which corresponds to his...
jackbarse
Offline Send Email
May 26, 2006
1:31 pm
Advanced

Copyright © 2010 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Guidelines - Help